Alina Neag, a Romanian founder and Creative Art Director of OneGiraphe

DSC_5804-2.jpg
Alina Neag
People that are regularly working on their dreams and become successful… Would you like to have a look at a work day of such a person? If yes, then read the following article on the busy life of Alina Neag, a Romanian founder and Creative Art Director of OneGiraphe.

Born and raised in Timisoara, she brought her childhood dream to life by opening a design studio and is now very happy to have turned her passion into a profession. Until today Alina had more than 200 clients around the world – among them some had appearances in Vogue, Victoria’s Secret, Elle, Audi Commercial, Tommy Hilfiger, Discovery.

“I am an early bird so my days usually start around 7 am. I must say that most of my work is done from home. So, as I said I wake up everyday at 7, sometimes without my alarm. It’s amazing how the biological clock works, right? First thing I do after I get up is go to the kitchen and prepare some warm water with lemon, a tea and that oh so needed cup of coffee. I always have too many cups around me and I need to be careful that my furry friend, Kitty, won’t spill everything as she is always around me during my days.

After this I do some stretching and yoga poses for about 10 minutes. When I’m done with my exercises I like to hop in the shower for a quick one which helps me start the day!

When I finish the shower it’s about 7.30 and it’s the time I drink my coffee. I turn on the computer, check the agenda and I start reading the emails and I organize them.

I usually end this somewhere around 8 am and I start working on new orders, I do the brainstorming and research for my new tasks, I sketch new projects ideas until 12 pm.

DSC_5800black
Alina takes us inside her creative process
At 12 pm it’s time for my lunch break! I either cook something or I go out to eat. After this I like to read a book or I do a bit of meditation. Some days, when I have more time, I enjoy a second cup of coffee in a nice café around town while preparing new projects. Sometimes I have meetings during lunch which won’t allow me to relax, but usually that is my free time.

After I finish my break around 2pm I start verifying other projects on which I am working beside my actual job, like the Facebook pages of “My Petite Giraphe” and of my blog “La Dolce Vita – Lifestyle”, and the stats of the blog itself! When done with this, I start preparing posts in advance and I write down new ideas for the blog or I go out to shoot some photos for the upcoming posts.

This usually happens until 6pm when I end my working day. I like to spend my evening with my friends, reading or doing yoga or even organizing and checking my planner for the next day. I guess I am a true workaholic… I think I am even dreaming about my job!  From time to time I like attending different meetings and events in my field of interest: design & art. If I have energy, after 9pm I like going to a pub to listen to jazz music and enjoy a glass of wine or I like going to the cinema or to one of my friends and enjoy a good movie!

Not everyday is the same as my schedule depends on whether I am working from home or I am travelling.

Here are my tips in order to achieve your goals:

Having the day organized and sticking to the plan is the best thing. I try staying offline during my working hours, so I turn off all my social media so I won’t get distracted.

Take tasks one by one and do not panic if something doesn’t go like planned.

Do not overwork! There were times in the past when I worked 16 hours/day because I had lots of ideas. I learned that it is better to work less then put your health in danger.

DSC_5809.jpg
Creative Art Director of OneGiraphe
Quality over quantity… ALWAYS!

Do fun stuff! Relax and maintain your creativity! Creatives/designers need a great ambient. From my experience, I can’t work if I am stressed. To relax I listen to good music (chillout music or my favourite songs are my go to), go out for a walk or meet a friend. Do anything that will distract you from work for at least half hour.

My motto: Go big, or go home!

Photo credits: https://www.facebook.com/AnitaBejenaru

One thought on “Alina Neag, a Romanian founder and Creative Art Director of OneGiraphe

Leave a Reply

